Draft Logo

DRAFT LOGO copy

 

For my draft logo I decided to do something simple by just creating something artsy out of my name and initials. After playing around Adobe Illustrator for many hours, I decided I liked the look of a very simple font, enhances with colors and depth. I eventually would like to create a logo/ banner that I could use as a header image for my personal social media sites.

 

The first step I took in creating my logo was using the rectangle tool to add a large black background. I chose black because I knew whatever font & color I picked would stand out against a black background. Originally, I intended to use only the text tool to add my initials in all caps with a significantly larger font pt., but then once I was searching through all the fonts trying to decide my favorite I came up with a new tactic to execute the image I had in my head. I proceeded to take the pencil tool and sketch my initials just as I would sign them on a piece of paper. It took a lot of moving around the anchor points to get them just where I liked the placement. As my work started to progress I almost got the placement perfect, I grouped and locked the layers exactly where I wanted. Playing with the color and shape of the lines was my favorite part, which was where I added my favorite color (purple) along with some grey with the gradient tool, and the shape of the lines giving my initials some depth. Then I used the text tool to add my first and last name on the sides of my initials and the finishing touch, the little heart on the very end of my last name.

 

Now that I have my draft logo finished, I would love to explore more tools and find inspiration for new ideas once I read the feedback I receive from my group!

 

 

Leave a comment