Final Video Story

 

To wrap up the last unit of the course I began to gather footage my final video story from my favorite place on earth, which just happens to be my home. I thought there was no better inspiration to make a video than the nature and beauty of where I live. This video represents what I’m looking forward to most as summertime approaches and all of us college kids head back to our roots. I filmed most of it on my little brothers new drone that he got for his birthday. Becoming familiar with the settings and how to fly it was excited yet challenging. It was really fun but it made us pretty nervous flying over the lake because we sure didn’t want to lose it in the water! I also used the time-lapse setting on my iPhone to film the clips of me driving home from Pullman one weekend to signify leaving for the summer. I also used my mom’s video camera when I recorded the clips of my dogs and the ducklings. I didn’t expect to gather so much footage and various clips from different angles and such, so determining what pieces I wanted to use was tricky. I pieced them together in an order that I think looks good and flows well but I when I went back to edit things I ended up deleting and moving around some clips. I also added an intro title, a few transitions here and there, and adjusted the speed of some clips to make it look like a fast-forward effect. I didn’t want to add too many transition effects because I didn’t like how chaotic it made things look but I also did not want to use the same ones between every single clip. I really liked the song I chose but unfortunately couldn’t use it because it did not have a creative commons license so I had to remove it. Instead I used an audio sound effect that was available in iMovie. I still think the audio adds some fun and upbeat vibes to my video but is not too distracting. Overall, I think working on my final video story for this unit has been the most fun and becoming more familiar with editing videos is something that I’m definitely going to use in the future!

Leave a comment